School Council

School councils have three main responsibilities:

  • finance: overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation
  • strategic planning: participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan
  • policy development and review: developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect a school’s values and support the school’s broad direction outlined in its strategic plan.

Other key functions of school councils include:

  • raising funds for school related purposes
  • maintaining school grounds and facilities
  • entering into contracts

reporting annually to the school community and the Department

  • creating interest in the school in the wider community
  • representing and taking the views of the community into account
  • regulating and facilitating after-hours use of school premises and grounds
  • operating a children’s service at the school.

School councils comprise parents, the principal, staff and often community members.

Our School Council meets at least twice per term with elections being scheduled each March.

The current membership of the Eaglehawk Primary School Council is as follows:

  • Cara Thomson (President)
  • Ann Kellett (Vice President)
  • Steph Butler (Parent Representative)
  • Karen McNaughton (Community Member)
  • Andrew Johnstone (Community Member)
  • Tayla Rutherford (Department of Education)
  • Rhys Barri (Leadership)
  • Fiona Lindsay (Principal)